How to import custom maps?

Having issues not related to a specific Sandbox game mode? Get help here!
Please also read the rules for support when posting support requests.
Failure to comply with the forum rules may result in your topic being locked without resolution.
robrobrob
Member
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 5th, 2013, 2:33 pm
Name: rob

How to import custom maps?

Postby robrobrob » May 5th, 2013, 2:43 pm

Hi,

I was wondering if it is possible to import a custom map into PAS.
I would like to create a 3d model in another program (such as AutoCad, 3Ds max), convert if neccesary and load it into PAS.
Is this possible?
Also, Could someone please tell me where the map itself is saved? I was thinking maybe i could convert a PAS map and edit it in another program.
I've searched a lot, but i can't find anything online about this.

Thanks!
rob

User avatar
Runescapedj
Member
Member
Posts: 1706
Joined: January 9th, 2010, 9:06 am
Name: Michiel
IRC Username: Sandboxdj
Location: Deventer, the Netherlands

Re: How to import custom maps?

Postby Runescapedj » May 6th, 2013, 2:49 pm

You can import a map just like you import a model, if that is what you mean, you'd still have to add clip to it though, and the map should be in the right format (same as the models)
http://www.sandboxgamemaker.com/wiki/in ... to_Sandbox

robrobrob
Member
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 5th, 2013, 2:33 pm
Name: rob

Re: How to import custom maps?

Postby robrobrob » May 7th, 2013, 3:54 pm

Yes, instead of remoddeling the current plane in PAS, I would like to create a mountainous digital world in 3DSmax and import it into PAS.
The model that I want to imort is the terrain. Should the plane of this world be a single md3 file? If so, can PAS handle such a big model? What is a good polygon limit for a map in PAS?

I also consider creating a rough version of my digital world in PAS, and then convert this map to finetune it in 3DSmax.
If I wanted to do this, where should I look for the map? and in what format(md3,obj...) is the map saved?

Thanks for the help, it's much appreciated!

robrobrob
Member
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 5th, 2013, 2:33 pm
Name: rob

Re: How to import custom maps?

Postby robrobrob » May 8th, 2013, 1:44 pm

Hi,

I've researched a lot and ran some tests in PAS.
I now understand that the map is saved to an OGZ-file. I found out how to convert it into an OBJ, which is readable by 3DSmax.
Does anyone know how to convert an OBJ (or similar file) back into an OGZ?

I also made a basic model and imported it into PAS. I found out that clipping was regulated using the mdlcollide command.
But when I put mdlcollide to a value of 1, PAS draws a box around my model and clips the model to this box.
So effectively, I can only walk over my model. I read somewhere that in this case, mdlcollide should be valued to 0 and that I should make (invisible) clipping walls.
But the model that I want to import has a very irregular shape. Is there a way to make the clipping of the model exactly like the shape of the model?
Like creating a clipping map or something?
Or exists there a way to merge my model with the current flat plane in PAS (so that my model becomes a part of the OGZ?)
Or is there a way to convert my model's properties to those of the PAS plane?

I find it very hard to find some education concerning clipping. If someone knows of a tutorial, please let me know.
I am very eager to learn about clipping, scripting and PAS in general.

Thanks for the help!

Hirato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: May 30th, 2009, 1:23 pm
IRC Username: hirato

Re: How to import custom maps?

Postby Hirato » May 8th, 2013, 6:27 pm

Does anyone know how to convert an OBJ (or similar file) back into an OGZ?

You don't.

But the model that I want to import has a very irregular shape. Is there a way to make the clipping of the model exactly like the shape of the model?

You can fine tune it with mdlbb and mdlbbextend, but you'll always end up with a cylinder or a box. There's no getting around that aside from integrating a third party physics engine, like bullet.
This is not a url, clicking it is pointless


Return to “Sandbox General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests