Page 1 of 1

MD2 Playermodel Problems

Posted: September 14th, 2016, 8:19 pm
by SpaceToast64
Hello, first of all I'm just gonna say this question really has to do with Cube 2: Sauerbraten, but it is really an engine problem that is the same with Platinum Arts Sandbox.

I am porting an old custom Quake 2 Playermodel (which, I repeat is supported by this engine) of the .md2 format, I have followed the article on the Cube 2 wiki, I made a config, successfully converted the .pcx textures to .jpg and have the model playable in game (as a replacement of Orgo2).

For the most part it works, the animations work except for the fact when I switch weapons (i.e. use any weapon other than pistol) his walking animation doesn't work (it uses his idle animation) and he drags his weapons under his feet (Quake 2 models have their own custom gun model, but idk how to import it).

HELP!!!

Re: MD2 Playermodel Problems

Posted: September 15th, 2016, 9:41 pm
by Mike
I'm sorry I don't know enough about importing models to help you out. Have you tried posting in the sauer forums? There is a guy named Geartrooper that I'm sure would be able to greatly help you out. Also what about importing it as an md5, or iqm? Iqm is the preferred format for Cube 2:
https://github.com/lsalzman/iqm

Also you could look at the other animated models and configs for reference.

Hope this helps. Take care!
-Mike

Re: MD2 Playermodel Problems

Posted: September 16th, 2016, 4:09 pm
by SpaceToast64
Mike wrote:I'm sorry I don't know enough about importing models to help you out. Have you tried posting in the sauer forums? There is a guy named Geartrooper that I'm sure would be able to greatly help you out. Also what about importing it as an md5, or iqm? Iqm is the preferred format for Cube 2:
https://github.com/lsalzman/iqm

Also you could look at the other animated models and configs for reference.

Hope this helps. Take care!
-Mike


Thanks Mike, I already have posted in Sauer forums long before I asked here. :lol:

Re: MD2 Playermodel Problems

Posted: September 16th, 2016, 5:38 pm
by Mike
They didn't respond? I do know that md2 is supposed to be much more limited than md5 and iqm so I'm curious if that does the trick!