Platinum Arts Sandbox 2.8 Beta Feedback Forum

The news hub -- read this stuff first!

Board Rules <-- Please read before posting.
User avatar
stefos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 112
Joined: January 9th, 2010, 10:01 am
Name: stefos
Location: Greece, Crete, Elounda
Contact:

Re: Platinum Arts Sandbox 2.8 Beta Feedback Forum

Postby stefos » July 27th, 2012, 11:18 am

Unless I have totally lost the plot, how do you create a new map....nothing in the menu for doing so, can edit map but not create a new one.
Why not create your own cool comics with Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker

Image

Visit Comix Sandbox Here http://www.comix-sandbox.com

Lou
Member
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: May 29th, 2012, 11:46 am
Name: Lou

Cursor Question

Postby Lou » July 27th, 2012, 2:17 pm

Hi,
So far I very much like the changes and have been playing with the free cursor a bit.
Now that I have the cursor free I want to add back the ability to move the camera with the mouse wheel
for zoom and the right mouse down and move the mouse to move the camera. I am working in 3rd person view and the camera is
stuck behind the players head up close.
How can I add back the behavior to move the camera?
Regards,
Lou

chocolatepie33
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2458
Joined: April 27th, 2010, 5:31 pm
IRC Username: CP

Re: Platinum Arts Sandbox 2.8 Beta Feedback Forum

Postby chocolatepie33 » July 27th, 2012, 3:29 pm

stefos wrote:Unless I have totally lost the plot, how do you create a new map....nothing in the menu for doing so, can edit map but not create a new one.


while I agree there really should be a button for that...

Code: Select all

/newmap ##      //## being mapsize


Is the human playermodel supposed to be a bot model? it doesn't have the team colors (red/blue), it just has the default skin texture (the black shirt and such). If it's used for an actual playermodel (not a bot model), that's kind of confusing. Team kills!

There's also a severe lack of model icons (like the captain cannon icon) in the scoreboard menu, will those be made or are those to change if/when we get new playermodels?
Julius wrote:Contribute to http://www.opengameart.org NOW!

Save the wiki!

Hirato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: May 30th, 2009, 1:23 pm
IRC Username: hirato

Re: Cursor Question

Postby Hirato » July 27th, 2012, 8:26 pm

Lou wrote:Hi,
So far I very much like the changes and have been playing with the free cursor a bit.
Now that I have the cursor free I want to add back the ability to move the camera with the mouse wheel
for zoom and the right mouse down and move the mouse to move the camera. I am working in 3rd person view and the camera is
stuck behind the players head up close.
How can I add back the behavior to move the camera?
Regards,
Lou


Not quite sure what you're asking...
With the cursor free, it will pan the view when it hits the edges of the screen.

If you want keypresses to rotate, have them change the cursor mode whilst held down
eg bind MOUSE3 [ freecursor 0; onrelease [freecursor 2] ]
I would advise against storing the value and and restoring on release when using a keyboard button for the action
This is not a url, clicking it is pointless

User avatar
kddekadenz
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: July 17th, 2011, 11:02 am
Name: kdd
Contact:

Re: Platinum Arts Sandbox 2.8 Beta Feedback Forum

Postby kddekadenz » July 28th, 2012, 10:11 am

Bugs:
- if you add bots they may have a invisible player model

Etc.:
- waypoints are missing
- good sounds for the weapons are missing
- no hudweapon in RPG mode

I really do like the new RPG stuff and the new maps.
Kelgar is an advanced RPG beeing developed in Sandbox

Hirato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: May 30th, 2009, 1:23 pm
IRC Username: hirato

Re: Platinum Arts Sandbox 2.8 Beta Feedback Forum

Postby Hirato » July 28th, 2012, 11:03 am

kddekadenz wrote:Bugs:
- if you add bots they may have a invisible player model



Gaaah!
Mike and Matt should really be doing a better job testing their own stuff *sigh*
I've removed references to a "pink" captain cannon which does not exist, as well as the unihuman dude - he has no team variants or suitable animations.



as for hud weapons in the RPG - if you don't see any, you've set it up wrong!
you need an armour or weapon type and it must be equipped in either hand.
an example of a valid model is: r_item_use_hudmdl "captaincannon/hudguns/gl"
This is not a url, clicking it is pointless

User avatar
kid matthew
Developer
Developer
Posts: 468
Joined: August 11th, 2009, 5:28 pm
Name: Matthew
IRC Username: Kid_matthew
Location: Land of Sandbox.

Re: Platinum Arts Sandbox 2.8 Beta Feedback Forum

Postby kid matthew » July 28th, 2012, 11:34 am

I have not seen any bug with the bots except for different player models.
- Adding waypoints to Snowcourt.

Cheers,
Matthew
Lost Lands Work In Progress <3 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2522 <3

Lou
Member
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: May 29th, 2012, 11:46 am
Name: Lou

Re: Cursor Question

Postby Lou » July 28th, 2012, 12:54 pm

Lou wrote:Hi,
So far I very much like the changes and have been playing with the free cursor a bit.
Now that I have the cursor free I want to add back the ability to move the camera with the mouse wheel
for zoom and the right mouse down and move the mouse to move the camera. I am working in 3rd person view and the camera is
stuck behind the players head up close.
How can I add back the behavior to move the camera?
Regards,
Lou


It is fixed now, I forgot to add "thirdpersondistance 100.0" to my config file. Now all is good!!!!
Chalk this one up to user error. :D
Still loving the new additions great job Hirato and Team!!!!!

User avatar
kddekadenz
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: July 17th, 2011, 11:02 am
Name: kdd
Contact:

Re: Platinum Arts Sandbox 2.8 Beta Feedback Forum

Postby kddekadenz » July 29th, 2012, 11:01 am

I just noticed that I need to port every single dialog when switching from 2.7 to 2.8 :o
Kelgar is an advanced RPG beeing developed in Sandbox

Hirato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: May 30th, 2009, 1:23 pm
IRC Username: hirato

Re: Platinum Arts Sandbox 2.8 Beta Feedback Forum

Postby Hirato » July 29th, 2012, 6:58 pm

they're relatively little changes ^^
just remember that the new form executes both strings
the most direct port is as follows

r_script_say "I like cheese" [ // 0

r_script_node "main" [result "I like cheese"] [
This is not a url, clicking it is pointless


Return to “Board News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 1 guest