Lights

Having issues not related to a specific Sandbox game mode? Get help here!
Please also read the when posting support requests.

Benvdog
Member
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: June 27th, 2010, 9:41 pm
Name: ben
IRC Username: Benvdog

Lights

Postby Benvdog » July 10th, 2010, 1:48 pm

Hello, im back from 4-h camp, i was gone 5 days...
On-topic : Hello, when i try to make a light, it creates one and i can see it in edit mode. Then when i exit edit mode, i can't see the light. Is this because of a setting or what?


User avatar
tyche
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 122
Joined: November 3rd, 2009, 1:36 pm
Name: Craig A. Eddy
IRC Username: tyche
Location: San Tan Valley, Arizona
Contact:

Re: Lights

Postby tyche » July 10th, 2010, 2:14 pm

Benvdog,

Go to edit mode and find the light. When you hover over it there are a number of lines, such as:
Radius: 128
Red: 255
Green: 255
Blue: 255
128 255 255 255

For Radius, press and hold "1" (one), and scroll forward with the mouse wheel will increase the number. The same holds true for Red, Green and Blue but are numbers 2, 3, and 4, respectively. The bottom row of numbers show the same information in the same order as the first 4 rows. It's likely that the radius of the light isn't high enough to show up, and may not show up if you are in full bright ambiance. BTW, as you can see, you can change the color of the light, too. Hope this helps.

Craig
(Tyche)

siimvuss
Member
Member
Posts: 410
Joined: August 19th, 2009, 1:27 am
Name: S
IRC Username: S
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Lights

Postby siimvuss » July 10th, 2010, 3:52 pm

also you need to calculate your lighting

arcones
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2734
Joined: January 13th, 2010, 12:42 pm
Name: Timothy
IRC Username: I use Steam
Location: Looking over your shoulder...
Contact:

Re: Lights

Postby arcones » July 10th, 2010, 4:20 pm

Or, another way is by pressing F3 and changing all the values in the same menu :)
Image
Want a user bar like this one? PM Leo!

User avatar
Runescapedj
Member
Member
Posts: 1706
Joined: January 9th, 2010, 9:06 am
Name: Michiel
IRC Username: Sandboxdj
Location: Deventer, the Netherlands

Re: Lights

Postby Runescapedj » July 10th, 2010, 4:24 pm

and you need 2 relight it 2, also f3

User avatar
Leo_V117
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 1640
Joined: February 16th, 2010, 8:00 pm
Name: Leo
IRC Username: Leo_V117
Location: That one place...
Contact:

Re: Lights

Postby Leo_V117 » July 15th, 2010, 5:33 am

Calculate the light: /calclight




User avatar
Chaze007
Member
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: August 9th, 2009, 8:56 pm
Name: William
IRC Username: Chaze007
Location: MS
Contact:

Re: Lights

Postby Chaze007 » July 15th, 2010, 8:25 pm

When you make a light in edit mode, it helps you to view how the source will look. (Although the result is always smaller)
When you place your light, and deselect it it seems everything goes back to normal, but in reality you haven't calculated your light maps.
You can calculate your light maps via /calclight, if you continue to edit you can always use /remip to fix editing lighting.


Return to “Sandbox General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests