Hi! Welcome to the forum for Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker. I currently have the forums locked as I am attempting to properly update them.

In the meantime please join the new Discord Server!

If you have any questions please e-mail me through the Platinum Arts website.

A few questions.

Having issues not related to a specific Sandbox game mode? Get help here!
Please also read the rules for support when posting support requests.
Failure to comply with the forum rules may result in your topic being locked without resolution.
Locked
BloodyTears
Member
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: October 29th, 2010, 1:21 am
Name: ryan
IRC Username: BloodyTears

A few questions.

Post by BloodyTears »

Hello , im pretty new to Platinum Arts Sandbox and i have a few questions to get me going. 1. How to change you player model? 2. How can i have a client that only

connects to my server? 3. How do i import models? 4. what scripting language is used with this? 5. How can i create more than one room? For say : walk to a door

or a trigger that sends the player to another map? 6. How can i make a battle system?


Thanks for all your help!
User avatar
klimyriad
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 969
Joined: December 23rd, 2009, 1:43 pm
Name: liam
Contact:

Re: A few questions.

Post by klimyriad »

HI allot of these questions have allready been answer check out others threads in the forums.

Also check out the wiki.
http://sandboxgamemaker.com/wiki/index. ... =Main_Page

Anyway i try to answer as much of these as best i can.

1: I think you have to type this into sandbox /playermodel model use the /to type the type pleyermodel then your model.
2: I have no idea what your talking about but to start a server you click server.bat and then to connect type /connect (your I.P)
Without the brackats.

here the wiki topic for servers http://sandboxgamemaker.com/wiki/index. ... ve_Editing

3: Copy and paste your model into packages/model/yourfolder/yotmodel (not more then one model you will have to make a other folder.) then make a file exmaple a md2.cfg then lastly go into data/default_map_models.

Here the wiki topic about it.
http://sandboxgamemaker.com/wiki/index. ... to_Sandbox

4: easy cube scripted here a little example a quickly made up for you.

Code: Select all

newgui newmap [
	guitext "Choice a new map size."
	guislider newmapsize 10 30
	guibar
	guibutton "New map" "newmap $newmapsize"
]
Here is the wki topic for it.
http://sandboxgamemaker.com/wiki/index. ... Cubescript

But then to edit allot of the engine it is in c++ and c.

5: well basicly create a teleporter and a tele desk in the map end place it where you want and put it to level_trigger_1.
But you mean teleport to a diffent map then copythis code and edit it.

Code: Select all

newgui mymap [
guitext "You want to go to my map"
guibutton "yes"  [map mymap]
guibutton "no" "cleargui"
]
That is a simple code hoe you can do it.

6: There is one in the engine but because PAS is kid friendly i think it has been disable but i think i can get it running again if you want me to do it only needs some codeing.

Wow that is the most i ever type up to help a person anyway welcome to the forums and i hope you enjoy your stay.

Thanks Klimyriad
support team.
Firstspace the attack Progress. Image
Maps= Image finishing the town of hisal map.
Models and textures Image Just started finding these.
Menus, script's and other stuff. Image
User avatar
Runescapedj
Member
Member
Posts: 1706
Joined: January 9th, 2010, 9:06 am
Name: Michiel
IRC Username: Sandboxdj
Location: Deventer, the Netherlands

Re: A few questions.

Post by Runescapedj »

BloodyTears wrote:Hello , im pretty new to Platinum Arts Sandbox and i have a few questions to get me going. 1. How to change you player model? 2. How can i have a client that only

connects to my server? 3. How do i import models? 4. what scripting language is used with this? 5. How can i create more than one room? For say : walk to a door

or a trigger that sends the player to another map? 6. How can i make a battle system?


Thanks for all your help!
1. How to change you player model?

press the 9-key to change to some models, /playermodel 6 for a human model, and you can also be the dragon (models) or one of the other models, but you have to code that and I don't know how to

2. How can i have a client that only

I don't know what you mean too... sorry

3. How do i import models?

Look at Klimyriad's answer, you can use these as a player model too, but you have to code for that

4. what scripting language is used with this?

Cubescript, C++

5. How can i create more than one room?

Look at Klimyriad's answer, but you can make a larger map too

6. How can i make a battle system?

First of all: What kind of battle system are you looking for?
Platinum Arts Sandbox'll have a watergun mode in the future, and you can look at the spells used in RPG mode too, these can be used for weapons and such, but as Klimyriad says: This engine is child-friendly, so there are only child-friendly examples available (RPG and waterwars in the future), maybe you can take a look at Cube 2/Sauerbraten? This works the same as sandbox and has some weapons in it.

Hope this helps
User avatar
klimyriad
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 969
Joined: December 23rd, 2009, 1:43 pm
Name: liam
Contact:

Re: A few questions.

Post by klimyriad »

The engine is not child frinedly remember it is based on the cube2 engine but the dev team made it kid friendly for the gamemaker.

But anyway you can activate the combat system again.
Firstspace the attack Progress. Image
Maps= Image finishing the town of hisal map.
Models and textures Image Just started finding these.
Menus, script's and other stuff. Image
daltonds1
Member
Member
Posts: 368
Joined: September 13th, 2010, 12:26 am
Name: Dalton
IRC Username: Daltonds1
Location: Tomball, Texas

Re: A few questions.

Post by daltonds1 »

To make it connect to your server only. do this
Remove the button mutiplayer on the menu
and add this.

Code: Select all

	guibutton "Play"	"connect YOUR IP"
Have fun any more questions please reply
chocolatepie33
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2458
Joined: April 27th, 2010, 5:31 pm
IRC Username: CP

Re: A few questions.

Post by chocolatepie33 »

whoa, whoa, whoa... You can make a map of size 30?
Runescapedj wrote:
4. what scripting language is used with this?

Cubescript, C++
A bit more on that, Cubescript is the game engine's language, and C++ was used to make the engine. Cubescript is mostly based off of C++ and also LISP.
Julius wrote:Contribute to http://www.opengameart.org NOW!
Save the wiki!
daltonds1
Member
Member
Posts: 368
Joined: September 13th, 2010, 12:26 am
Name: Dalton
IRC Username: Daltonds1
Location: Tomball, Texas

Re: A few questions.

Post by daltonds1 »

chocolatepie33 wrote:whoa, whoa, whoa... You can make a map of size 30?
Yes We have gone over this already in the IRC
chocolatepie33
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2458
Joined: April 27th, 2010, 5:31 pm
IRC Username: CP

Re: A few questions.

Post by chocolatepie33 »

I'm not in the IRC, sorry.
Julius wrote:Contribute to http://www.opengameart.org NOW!
Save the wiki!
Locked