Hi! Welcome to the forum for Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker. I currently have the forums locked as I am attempting to properly update them.

In the meantime please join the new Discord Server!

If you have any questions please e-mail me through the Platinum Arts website.

Saving maps to server?

Having issues not related to a specific Sandbox game mode? Get help here!
Please also read the rules for support when posting support requests.
Failure to comply with the forum rules may result in your topic being locked without resolution.
kristincronin
Name: Kristin

Saving maps to server?

Post by kristincronin »

I am a teacher with a classroom of 40 computer systems that utilize a server to save student work. When the students use sandbox we would like to save their personally created maps into their personal Z: drive, however, sandbox defaults to the FPS bin located in the C: drive. Can this be re-directed to the student Z: drive in my server?

I teach 11 - 12th grade students in Lodi, Ca. They are loving this program!

Thanks for any help,
:D Kristin
Hirato
Developer
Developer
IRC Username: hirato

Re: Saving maps to server?

Post by Hirato »

This may prove difficult.

If their Z:/ home directories are synonymous with "my documents", you can probably modify the bats to something like -q%HOMEDIR%\sandbox
I'm not sure, so please do some research on BAT scripting and their environment variables.

On the other hand, if their Z drives aren't synonymous with "My Documents", it'll either require a unique bat for each and every user, unless there's an environment variable.
an example of this would be -qZ:\user\sandbox (modify to suit the layout of said Z: drive)
This is not a url, clicking it is pointless
dhillis
Name: Daniel

Post by dhillis »