Stupid Question?

Having issues not related to a specific Sandbox game mode? Get help here!
Please also read the when posting support requests.

User avatar
johnno56
Member
Member
Posts: 158
Joined: June 12th, 2009, 4:06 am
Name: John
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Stupid Question?

Postby johnno56 » June 15th, 2009, 3:23 am

Mike,

Forgive me if this question sounds stupid. If and when I finish a map(s), how do I submit them for review/testing/critique?

Regards

J
May your journey be free of incident.

Live long and prosper.

User avatar
Mike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 871
Joined: May 24th, 2009, 12:52 pm

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby Mike » June 15th, 2009, 8:26 am

Webpages such as imageshack are usually used by people to show off their images. If you need filehost, megaupload and rapidshare are popular choices. Also I would be more than happy to host your images and files so let me know if you need help.

Works in progress get posted in the works in progress section, and when you think you might have something that might be worth being included in sandbox, put it in the custom submission forum. Take care.
-mike
Sign up for our to keep up to date with the Sandbox news!
We also have a , , and a [/b][/color]!

User avatar
Obsidian
Former Staff
Posts: 454
Joined: May 24th, 2009, 1:52 pm
IRC Username: Katana
Contact:

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby Obsidian » June 15th, 2009, 10:38 am


Mudman
Member
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: June 21st, 2009, 4:42 am
Name: Jon Scott

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby Mudman » June 24th, 2009, 4:09 am

I can't get rid of the sparkling points that say "mapmodel" or "particals" out of edit mode.
How do I correct this?

User avatar
johnno56
Member
Member
Posts: 158
Joined: June 12th, 2009, 4:06 am
Name: John
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby johnno56 » June 24th, 2009, 6:12 am

Mudman,

I have not been using Sandbox for very long, but one thing I did pick, is to be able to delete unwanted models.

In Edit Mode all I did was to point the mouse and click. I would then notice in the bottom left corner of the screen which model was selected. Sometimes models can be quite close and would take a few attempts to select the one that I wanted. Once selected, I would use the Backspace key to remove it. Sometimes, if the model was in contact with another surface, that section of the surface would delete as well. I found if that happened, I would press "U" to undo the last action performed. The last action being the removal of the surface. I think the removal order is the selected mapmodel THEN the surface it is attached to. (not too sure about that) At times if the model was too close to anything else, I would select it and hold down the left mouse button then move the model away from the other models with the mouse (you may have to use the mouse wheel at the same time as well) , then press Backspace to remove it.

I am sure that there is a simpler way that the other forum members may have found, but that is the way I do it.

I hope this helps.

Regards

J
May your journey be free of incident.

Live long and prosper.

CollegeforKids
Restricted User
Posts: 27
Joined: June 16th, 2009, 10:50 am
Name: Caitlin

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby CollegeforKids » June 24th, 2009, 1:43 pm

If you're having problems with blue sparklies and names out of edit mode, then SAVE YOUR MAP and type in /sp (name of your map)


What happened is somehow you've got yourself stuck in co-op mode (the sp you typed in stands for single player) For some reason in this mode, sparkles and names don't go away and entities don't work. Next time you load a map make sure your game mode is on single player.

Mudman
Member
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: June 21st, 2009, 4:42 am
Name: Jon Scott

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby Mudman » June 24th, 2009, 6:27 pm

[/quote]What happened is somehow you've got yourself stuck in co-op mode (the sp you typed in stands for single player) For some reason in this mode, sparkles and names don't go away and entities don't work. Next time you load a map make sure your game mode is on single player.[/quote]

Thanks! Works great.
I was also wondering where I could find a questing template(if one exists)and instructions on how to set up quests.
I seem to have quite a knack for creating enviorments,but it seems stupid without any sort of goals.

User avatar
GoBologna120
Member
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 3:07 pm
Name: Tim
IRC Username: GoBologna
Location: Nowhere in particular.

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby GoBologna120 » June 24th, 2009, 6:31 pm

I'd check out the .cfg for the village map.
Image
Yay. ^_^

Mudman
Member
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: June 21st, 2009, 4:42 am
Name: Jon Scott

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby Mudman » June 24th, 2009, 7:27 pm

I'm already using village.cfg and I find it sorta confusing.Time for some o that good ol trial and error I guess.

User avatar
Mike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 871
Joined: May 24th, 2009, 12:52 pm

Re: Stupid Question?

Postby Mike » June 25th, 2009, 3:36 pm

Check the FAQ. I put in a more simple version of the village.cfg and also the save the princess cfg and talked about the process of doing the quests. Take care.
-mike
Sign up for our to keep up to date with the Sandbox news!
We also have a , , and a [/b][/color]!


Return to “Sandbox General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests