Page 1 of 1

Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 29th, 2012, 2:04 pm
by kreh8or
Hello,

I followed a few tuts on loading textures and it didn't seem that hard to do, but then again I couldn't do it so this is what I've tried:

I've found that the default_map_settings.cfg will run fine(so i didn't paste the txt here) with the edits to it when I use the exec command but then it gives me the error "cannot find" path to my textures.
I tried creating a new map because I read on the forum that you need to start a new map up to get them to work, and its still the same issue. The only thing I can think of is that when I first edited the packages.cfg in notepad it saved it as .txt and I had to go back and rename it. Not sure if windows is the problem or not. Maybe its not seeing it a a .cfg anymore?

Other things I've tried:

Using a .jpg rather than .bmp to make sure it wasn't the .bmp files that were the problem.
Also edited another packages.cfg file in a pre existing folder with textures to point to one of my textures. The result was that this entire folder ended up with the same error. (so maybe its not windows?)
Here is the text from the packages.cfg file so you can see if something is wrong. I tried with and without the .bmp in the names. Thanks for any help you can give. :)

// "mytextures" Custom Textures

setshader stdworld
texture 0 "mytextures/index.jpg"
texture 0 "mytextures/1.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/2.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/3.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/4.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/5.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/6.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/7.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/8.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/9.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/10.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/11.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/12.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/13.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/14.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/15.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/16.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/17.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/18.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/19.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/20.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/21.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/22.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/23.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/24.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/25.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/26.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/27.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/28.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/29.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/30.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/31.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/32.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/33.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/34.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/35.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/36.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/37.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/38.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/39.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/40.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/41.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/42.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/43.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/44.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/45.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/46.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/47.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/48.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/49.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/50.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/51.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/52.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/53.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/54.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/55.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/56.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/57.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/58.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/59.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/60.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/61.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/62.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/63.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/64.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/65.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/66.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/67.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/68.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/69.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/70.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/71.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/72.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/73.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/74.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/75.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/76.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/77.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/78.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/79.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/80.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/81.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/82.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/83.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/84.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/85.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/86.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/87.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/88.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/89.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/90.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/91.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/92.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/93.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/94.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/95.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/96.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/97.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/98.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/99.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/100.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/101.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/102.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/103.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/104.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/105.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/106.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/107.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/108.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/109.bmp"
texture 0 "mytextures/110.bmp"

PS: what I'm working on is bringing in some dev textures into PAS. Is there a place I can find out the unit scale size in cube2 in inches or something? I tried to export .obj into sketchup because that is the only program I have that will let you NOT stretch a texture size. Ex: I've read that the standard size cube you start out with to edit inside PAS is 64x64 texture size. I'm just not sure how the size is effected during the export import process. The problem is that I need to use blender or wings because sketchup doesn"t import .obj so when I send it through as a .3ds or .dae to sketchup it comes in a different sizes. I don't even know if the size stays correct when I first import it to wings or blender as the .obj. I will be experimenting more so If you don't know... no worries... I have a few more things I can try.

Thanks again.

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 29th, 2012, 2:51 pm
by kddekadenz
It seems like you putted it into the wrong place. Put it into the <mapname>-art.cfg of the map or create a file named <mapname>.cfg and put your code there.
If you want to have only your textures loaded, place a line with texturereset at the beginning.

About the dev-textures, that may be what you are looking for: http://sourceforge.net/p/sauerbraten/co ... efault.png

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 29th, 2012, 5:09 pm
by kreh8or
I'm kicking myself because the error was "Could Not Read" not find like I stated before. So, I'm trying to follow along with what you asked me to do and this is what I got...
I went into PAS and created a new map. Then I saved the map and it went to Packages/base/fps/filename.art.cfg And so I go to find this file and I don't see it and search doesn't find it. Is this because its inside the OGZ file? Sorry for my confusion.

Thank you for the texture link. I was able to load it into sketchup and use the measure tool to get some rough idea about scale. This worked just fine. Here are some numbers but I think they maybe more accurate if loaded into another program that snaps to grid units. I'm pretty sure the numbers are ok for most purposes but if anyone knows otherwise... please correct me.

Texture size is 256px
256px inside PAS = 17feet 6inches
128px = 8.75feet
64px= 4.37feet

From there you can figure 512px is 35feet or whatever else you want.

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 29th, 2012, 5:13 pm
by kreh8or
Forgot to add that I exec directly to the packages.cfg file and get the same read error.

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 29th, 2012, 5:32 pm
by kreh8or
I was able to load the map with /map mapname and I think there were some extra places for textures in the texture menu but the textures were not in those spots. They were blank. When used I get the white/red error texture.

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 29th, 2012, 6:52 pm
by Hirato
bmp is possibly not a supported format.
Anyways, are you SURE your textures are in packages/mytextures/ ?

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 29th, 2012, 9:07 pm
by kreh8or
I took the files to another computer and found the issue. all the files had double the extensions. like 1.bmp.bmp even the .cfg file had this and I'm not sure how. Anyway, thanks for the help. I used the texturereset command and that was great. I notice in some videos on youtube that the default texture on the sides (when you raise a new cube from the ground) is different than that on the tops. Does this always default to the first texture used or ?

Thanks :D

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 29th, 2012, 10:48 pm
by Hirato
kreh8or wrote:I took the files to another computer and found the issue. all the files had double the extensions. like 1.bmp.bmp even the .cfg file had this and I'm not sure how.

Oh Windows... :roll:

I notice in some videos on youtube that the default texture on the sides (when you raise a new cube from the ground) is different than that on the tops. Does this always default to the first texture used or ?

Two possibilities
1. (Really) Old version, these used different default textures for each side.
2. They're extruding from a cube that has been otherwise textured. The textures copy over if possible to the new cube.

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: December 30th, 2012, 6:42 pm
by kreh8or
Yes... gotta love windows. Argh :?

I got some dev textures like those used in Source Engine games and found that the character in PAS is rather large. I'll start a new thread for more advice. :D

Re: Cant load textures but it may be windows fault.

Posted: November 13th, 2014, 11:52 pm
by Sxandy
It does not work


______________
Scarlett