Hi! Welcome to the forum for Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker. I currently have the forums locked as I am attempting to properly update them. If you have any questions please e-mail me through the Platinum Arts website.

Cannot load map

Having issues not related to a specific Sandbox game mode? Get help here!
Please also read the rules for support when posting support requests.
Failure to comply with the forum rules may result in your topic being locked without resolution.
Locked
thomas4511
Member
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 23rd, 2014, 2:33 pm
Name: Cayden

Cannot load map

Post by thomas4511 »

I recently went to play Platinum Arts Sandbox and encountered an error. Once I had finished my map, in RPG mode, I went to save it by using the save map command in the editing window and named my map: tutorial1. I tried to load the map by using the New Game command on the startup RPG screen and it said in the top corner: could not read map packages/base/tutorial1.ogz
I named my game tutorial and I am using a Windows 8 laptop that is 64 bit.
ZealousFoX
Member
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: June 7th, 2014, 1:05 am
Name: Zachary Bragg
IRC Username: ZealousFoX

Re: Cannot load map

Post by ZealousFoX »

Hi I am going to try and replicate your issue, as I also have Windows 8 64 bit. As I'm not sure how long you took in making it I will just be in for 10 minutes. I will update as soon as I am done.
thomas4511
Member
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 23rd, 2014, 2:33 pm
Name: Cayden

Re: Cannot load map

Post by thomas4511 »

I checked in the folder base and the file tutorial1.ogz wasn't there.
User avatar
Wind Astella
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: June 4th, 2013, 6:18 am
Name: Nik Mirza
IRC Username: windastella
Contact:

Re: Cannot load map

Post by Wind Astella »

how about in base/rpg. It should be saved there so to load it, the command should be map rpg/tutorial1
thomas4511
Member
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 23rd, 2014, 2:33 pm
Name: Cayden

Re: Cannot load map

Post by thomas4511 »

The file doesn't exist there either.
User avatar
Wind Astella
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: June 4th, 2013, 6:18 am
Name: Nik Mirza
IRC Username: windastella
Contact:

Re: Cannot load map

Post by Wind Astella »

try searching mystuff/packages/base. It is saved there actually. My bad
thomas4511
Member
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 23rd, 2014, 2:33 pm
Name: Cayden

Re: Cannot load map

Post by thomas4511 »

It's not there either.
User avatar
Wind Astella
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: June 4th, 2013, 6:18 am
Name: Nik Mirza
IRC Username: windastella
Contact:

Re: Cannot load map

Post by Wind Astella »

So there is only two possibility left, it's a bug or it just you who didn't save it properly. But it is always a really frustrating thing to lost something you had work on passionately.
Locked