Hi! Welcome to the forum for Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker. I currently have the forums locked as I am attempting to properly update them.

In the meantime please join the new Discord Server!

If you have any questions please e-mail me through the Platinum Arts website.

Music educator

Introduce yourself to the rest of the community here.
mswcpt
Name: Miles

Music educator

Post by mswcpt »

Hi there Everyone!

I am a music teacher and master of Music graduate (composition of interactive audio) from the University Of Natal here in South Africa. I am currently pursuing a PHD in music and technology. I have come across your game development software because I am researching the tools needed to create virtual environments in which school kids (ages 16-18) can use to design and compose interactive audio for. Now there are many high-end game development kits on the market which require a degree in programming languages to use and for that Sandbox is ideal!

What I mean by this (adaptive audio) is the ability to get a game to become more like film but a film that changes based on user input. Films have great music and sound design, so we need something that can adapt to user input in a gamestate and enhance the user experience by creating a fully interactive environment.

I have been told that Sandbox uses SDL and to this end I need some help please :) :

How is SDL programmed? Does it have a user-friendly interface or must I learn another programming language?

How do you edit, create gui triggers etc?
Where are the tools within the game edit mode to change the sound/music parameters so that they will be saved in the gamestate once complete?

Basically I need a complete tutorial on how to program SDL and upload music/sound files and render in a completed world so that I can get started on this. Please let me know ASAP. I really appreciate any help with this.