Page 1 of 1

Issues with new maps

Posted: August 9th, 2011, 12:35 pm
by Orrellgav
Hi,

Ive just started making a game using PAS. I have few issues, but the main one is that I cant get the scripts to run at all. I need to make it so that when you walk to a certain point ( map marker) you leave to enter a new map. I tried copying the script from the tutorial but it wont work. I then thought Id try any other script from the tutorial, just to get one working then tweak it but nothing will work, I cant make a shop script start, or even pick up a coin. Sorry to sound totally hopeless but I am stuck and would really appreciate some help.

Thanks

Re: Issues with new maps

Posted: August 9th, 2011, 12:55 pm
by arcones
I'm assuming your starting a newmap each time you try. If that's the case, then the gamemode your in (besides FPS) is co-op edit. Co-op edit doesn't allow the use of triggers or scripts. Save the map, and just load it and try the script again. If the problem persists, make sure you're using FPS mode, Singleplayer, and save the script before executing.

Re: Issues with new maps

Posted: August 9th, 2011, 2:25 pm
by Orrellgav
OK, thanks, I was trying in FPS then went on try RPG (it fits better withteh game I am trying to make)
So I have loaded my map in RPG, put in the trigger, set it the 1, 1 thing, copied the text into a CFG flile. I know to load the map so I can edit it, is that what you mean?

Re: Issues with new maps

Posted: August 9th, 2011, 5:58 pm
by arcones
Basically yeah. When you start Sandbox, you'll see the "New Map" and "Load Map" buttons. Click load map and choose your map. Just make sure the gamemode is single player ;D

That should fix it.

Re: Issues with new maps

Posted: August 14th, 2011, 6:43 am
by Orrellgav
OK, tried it and it wont do it. this is infuriating. To double check, I have loaded in Context, copied the code from the tutorial, saved it as UH1.cfg (the name of the 1st map is UH1) the code I have copied is below:-

level_trigger_1 = [
echo "You completed the map!"
echo "New map will be UH2"
sleep 5000
map UH2
]

I save this in to my_stuff/packages/base
I have then set a map model -1, trigger type 1, level_trigger_1
I have a 2nd map called UH2 already.
I then save the map, load it in in single player and nothing happens when I walk into it.
Grrrr!!!!

Help me Obi Wan, you're my only hope!

Re: Issues with new maps

Posted: August 14th, 2011, 5:47 pm
by chocolatepie33
I'd recommend trigger type 12 instead, or 8 if you want repeats.

In edit mode, hit F6 and hit "load" and "execute" just to test it.

Wait...
So I have loaded my map in RPG, put in the trigger, set it the 1, 1 thing, copied the text into a CFG flile


That's why. The coding you're using doesn't work in RPG mode, only in FPS mode.

Re: Issues with new maps

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 6:32 am
by Orrellgav
Awesome. Thats done it. Give yourslef 4 million brillance points. yippee!!!!

Re: Issues with new maps

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 10:41 am
by arcones
arcones wrote:If the problem persists, make sure you're using FPS mode,


*sigh*