Exporting your 3D models for use in Sandbox

Learn more on how to use Sandbox, or submit your own tutorials or resources.
User avatar
jSoftApps
Member
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: May 2nd, 2011, 10:02 pm
Name: J.R.
IRC Username: jSoftApps
Location: jSoft Apps Software Innovations HQ
Contact:

Exporting your 3D models for use in Sandbox

Postby jSoftApps » July 7th, 2013, 6:03 pm

Hello everyone, It's certainly been a long time since I've been/posted here. I recently rediscovered sandbox after countless hours of yelling/raging at Unreal Engine. So yeah, I'm back and to dramatically announce my arrival, I'm presenting a tutorial on how to export your 3D models for use in sandbox

*Disclaimer. I'm not going to be held responsible for any damage you do to your computer with this software. Not sure if it's even possible to damage your computer with it, but better safe than sued :P*

The first thing you're going to want to is download the program Blender. You want version 2.63. Why? Because the exporting software doesn't work past 2.63. You can download it here: http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.63/

Now, you're going to want to install 7-zip if you don't already have it installed. You'll need it for the next step, trust me. You can get it at http://www.7-zip.org

The next thing that you're going to want to do is download and unzip the IQM development kit. This step is essential to getting your model into sandbox. You can download the development kit from http://lee.fov120.com/iqm/

Now that you have the development kit downloaded and unzipped, it's time to add the exporter to blender! First, you have to launch blender (duh?). Next, click File and then "User Preferences"

A new window should pop up. You're going to click on the "Addons" tab and click the "Install" button. Now find where you unzipped the iqm development kit and find the 2.63 exporter. Yay! You installed the exporter :D

So now you, it's time to make or import your beautiful 3D model to blender. It is recommended to keep your 3D model below 5,000 faces (I find under 1000 to usually be the best). And now, you should be ready to export!

The first think you're going to want to do is select all of the 3D models (and armature if applicable) and then click file, then export, then Inter-Quake Model.

Now, before exporting, make sure that you uncheck the box "Bounding Boxes" (IDK why, but models don't export when it's checked) and If you don't have any armature, uncheck the "Skeleton" box. Now all that's left to do is hit the export button and load your model into sandbox! Now how hard was that :P

Well, thanks for reading! Make sure to let me know if I've screwed anything up.

jSoftApps :mrgreen:
http://www.jsoftapps.com
jSoft Apps Software Innovations - App, Games and More!
Visit our Website!

Image

jSoft Apps is now on indie db!
Image

personman61
Member
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: January 27th, 2013, 5:31 am
Name: jeremy

Re: Exporting your 3D models for use in Sandbox

Postby personman61 » September 2nd, 2013, 3:46 pm

I cant download from the third link. I'm just going to google it.

After googling it, i got the same problem everywhere. :evil:

"Not Found

The requested URL /iqm was not found on this server.

Apache/2.2.22 (Ubuntu) Server at lee.fov120.com Port 80"

I guess the server may be down or something. Any other ideas?:?:

User avatar
jSoftApps
Member
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: May 2nd, 2011, 10:02 pm
Name: J.R.
IRC Username: jSoftApps
Location: jSoft Apps Software Innovations HQ
Contact:

Re: Exporting your 3D models for use in Sandbox

Postby jSoftApps » September 15th, 2013, 9:37 am

Wow. I never noticed that. How strange. Here's the alternate download link: https://github.com/lsalzman/iqm
Now, all you'll have to do to download this software is click the "Download Zip" button on the right sidebar.
Sorry for any inconvenience that that broken link may have caused you. Please tell me of you need any other help.
jSoft Apps Software Innovations - App, Games and More!
Visit our Website!

Image

jSoft Apps is now on indie db!
Image

personman61
Member
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: January 27th, 2013, 5:31 am
Name: jeremy

Re: Exporting your 3D models for use in Sandbox

Postby personman61 » October 2nd, 2013, 4:08 am

does this add on work with updates past 2.63

personman61
Member
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: January 27th, 2013, 5:31 am
Name: jeremy

Re: Exporting your 3D models for use in Sandbox

Postby personman61 » October 6th, 2013, 1:24 pm

It works with 2.68


Return to “Tutorials and Resources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest