Making An RPG Character With Responses

Learn more on how to use Sandbox, or submit your own tutorials or resources.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
User avatar
Chaze007
Member
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: August 9th, 2009, 8:56 pm
Name: William
IRC Username: Chaze007
Location: MS
Contact:

Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby Chaze007 » December 24th, 2009, 1:51 am


malkin61
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: February 25th, 2010, 8:03 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby malkin61 » March 2nd, 2010, 10:52 am

This looks good but I' having trouble grasping some things - just started using Sandbox - trying th develop a rpg.

1. Where does the code actually go? I've tried adding it to my cfg file but nothing happens.
2. How do you define where your npc is located in your map?

Thanks in advance

Malk

carter472
Member
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: June 18th, 2009, 1:34 am
Name: Adam
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby carter472 » March 16th, 2010, 12:12 am

You just put the code into your cfg.

Then when you're in the game, you go into edit mode by pressing F1, and you spawn the model.

For example, in edit mode, you type /spawn RGuard

That would spawn the exact model specified by the code and all its conversations will be available.

This also allows you set wherever you want the RGuard to be spawned.

malkin61
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: February 25th, 2010, 8:03 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby malkin61 » March 16th, 2010, 3:44 pm

Ok - I'm getting there.

I copied your code into the cfg file. Started my map in RPG, hit F1 and typed /spawn RGuard.

Good news - the new npc appeared. Bad news - there's no interaction. It doesn't turn to face me or communicate anything. I mean that no dialogue box appeared.

Getting closer! But more help and sorry to be a pain with my questions..

Malk

arcones
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2734
Joined: January 13th, 2010, 12:42 pm
Name: Timothy
IRC Username: I use Steam
Location: Looking over your shoulder...
Contact:

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby arcones » March 17th, 2010, 8:55 am

The reason he's not talking is because the "r_face" doesn't work in 2.5.... I've tried it and it won't work :|

So until it works, you can try to circumvent that by messing around with the code... (Unfortunately I don't know how :( )
Image
Want a user bar like this one? PM Leo!

Hirato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: May 30th, 2009, 1:23 pm
IRC Username: hirato
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby Hirato » March 17th, 2010, 8:42 pm

did you press E when he's your "hover" target?
This is not a url, clicking it is pointless

User avatar
Leo_V117
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 1640
Joined: February 16th, 2010, 8:00 pm
Name: Leo
IRC Username: Leo_V117
Location: That one place...
Contact:

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby Leo_V117 » April 7th, 2010, 10:25 am

Thats True. Press E when youre facing him and a symbol appears. Then you can talk to him. And as for parts that dont work, apparently, if you type in "r_get" as a replacement for "r_" in the rpg_game.cfg, in the console during the game, it should give you an example of how to impliment that piece of code. Is that true or just a rumor?




User avatar
klimyriad
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 969
Joined: December 23rd, 2009, 1:43 pm
Name: liam
Contact:

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby klimyriad » April 7th, 2010, 4:24 pm

i just put this in my game if that is okay with you
Of course i change it a little bit

Also i put it in my forums too to show off your work on 3adstudios go and check it out if you want

http://3adstudios.darkbb.com/general-f7 ... t19.htm#19
Last edited by klimyriad on April 7th, 2010, 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Firstspace the attack Progress.
Maps= finishing the town of hisal map.
Models and textures Just started finding these.
Menus, script's and other stuff.

User avatar
Leo_V117
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 1640
Joined: February 16th, 2010, 8:00 pm
Name: Leo
IRC Username: Leo_V117
Location: That one place...
Contact:

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby Leo_V117 » April 7th, 2010, 4:29 pm

What work? Ive done something that i dont remember doing. Shed some light on it please.




User avatar
klimyriad
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 969
Joined: December 23rd, 2009, 1:43 pm
Name: liam
Contact:

Re: Making An RPG Character With Responses

Postby klimyriad » April 7th, 2010, 4:42 pm

sorry Chaze007 i will correct that but still your shop scripted is on the website and Leo i will change it sorry Chaze007

I still put this scripted on the website it was because i was reading your shop scirted and i gor confused when i was here oh well
It is night and i am tired and make mistakes i think i need to go to bed see ya all

lol
Firstspace the attack Progress.
Maps= finishing the town of hisal map.
Models and textures Just started finding these.
Menus, script's and other stuff.


[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “Tutorials and Resources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest