A newcomers question

Talk about anything related to Platinum Arts Sandbox here!
Locked
Kyle
Member
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 1:46 pm
Name: Kyle
Contact:

A newcomers question

Post by Kyle »

Ok, I'm pretty new to the Sandbox Game maker and had a question on enviroment creation. When I get on the default maps, they have a pretty natural flow to them. None of the land is prefect and boxy (no perfect sqaures, or rectangles or anything). When I'm in the custom map making feature (adding a new custom map) I can only manage to make everything a box, a perfect box. The disables me from making hills, mountains, natural looking lakes/ponds, and thats cutting out a lot of it for me. I'm not an experienced scripter or game writer but I love to work with enviroment creation. So if anyone has any idead of what I should do, or what I'm even talking about please let me know.

Examples

Lakes - I can make a lake with perfect shore lines instead of squigly natural looking shore lines

Hills - I am unable to make hilles because it would just be a giant box jutting out of the ground, either that or It would look like giant stairs if I were to make a way up it.
Check out TypicallyTech.com! It's a blog about Tech, Gaming, Life, and More!
User avatar
madfox95
Member
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: June 11th, 2009, 3:15 am
Name: Sten
IRC Username: Madfox
Location: On Gaia's back.

Re: A newcomers question

Post by madfox95 »

U can use "q" button to make hills ;) , but u can hold down "g" to make your grid bigger and its very helpful.

Madfox
I am going to put u sleep, slowly!
In progress - I don't use PAS anymore. UDK is better.
Kyle
Member
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 1:46 pm
Name: Kyle
Contact:

Re: A newcomers question

Post by Kyle »

Thanks, the hill tip worked but any idea on the lake shore lines? Making them more natural?
Check out TypicallyTech.com! It's a blog about Tech, Gaming, Life, and More!
Hirato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: May 30th, 2009, 1:23 pm
IRC Username: hirato

Re: A newcomers question

Post by Hirato »

I'd suggest the use of blendmaps, the old maps use a somewhat less "flowy technique"

just press P to enter the mode, and click to paint
This is not a url, clicking it is pointless
Kyle
Member
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 1:46 pm
Name: Kyle
Contact:

Re: A newcomers question

Post by Kyle »

What is "blendmaps" exactly? I don't believe I have ever heard of it.
Check out TypicallyTech.com! It's a blog about Tech, Gaming, Life, and More!
User avatar
Mike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 871
Joined: May 24th, 2009, 12:52 pm

Re: A newcomers question

Post by Mike »

When you hit F2 you'll notice that some textures have a small square that looks like another texture inside of it. That means if you select that texture, it has a paint brush mode to it. Just hit P and you can literally start painting on the bigger texture with the appearance of that smaller texture. So you could essentially paint a beach :D In 2.3 the paint mode doesn't look that spectacular because it is kind of big and blocky but in our dev version it looks awesome! So great for making paths and such too! Take care!
-mike
Sign up for our Newsletter to keep up to date with the Sandbox news!
We also have a facebook page, facebook group, myspace page and a twitter page[/b][/color]!
User avatar
dr.tygen
Member
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: August 25th, 2009, 10:04 am

Re: A newcomers question

Post by dr.tygen »

So... from one texture creator to another... how do you create textures that are blendmap compatible?
Image

"Fate protects fools, little children, and ships named Enterprise."
--William Riker


Image
Radder
Member
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: September 23rd, 2009, 11:31 am

Re: A newcomers question

Post by Radder »

Press the H key and your white grid will turn green. You are now in heightfield mode. Then scroll your middle mouse wheel to make hills,valleys,lake beds or ponds...
Hirato
Developer
Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: May 30th, 2009, 1:23 pm
IRC Username: hirato

Re: A newcomers question

Post by Hirato »

open your map's -art.cfg, you should see // {number} following every texture definition, this is the identity of the texture

you'll use /texlayer {That number} for the layer you'd want to assign to a texture

eg

texture 0 "my_texture.jpg" 0 0 0 1 // 6

texture 0 "My_other_texture.jpg" 0 0 0 1 // 7
texlayer 6
This is not a url, clicking it is pointless
Locked