Sandbox Space Sim

Talk about anything related to Platinum Arts Sandbox here!
User avatar
cork279
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: October 22nd, 2010, 5:54 am
Name: Corey
IRC Username: cork279
Location: The corner of a sphere.
Contact:

Sandbox Space Sim

Postby cork279 » February 16th, 2012, 1:26 pm

I didn't know whether to put this in Sandbox Chat or support, as I have a question too :P

I have had an idea of a space simulator is Sandbox (I'm not gonna make it, it's just an idea I could test). I was wondering whether you all think it'd be possible. Also, does anyone know how to remove gravity in Sandbox? - cause that'd be really helpful in a space sim. You could also change the HUD to look like a coc-kpit, and change the GUI to look more like a ship console screen. The 3D GUI may look awesome in this situation!

Also, it could work as an RPG, as different ships are pretty much NPC's. So their could be trade ships, enemy 'pirate' ships, etc...

For example:
A coc-kpit for the HUD, you could also change the healthbar and stuff to fit into the coc-kpit somewhere. Make a playermodel of a ship for third person view too.
Image

An example of a GUI screen that's like a console menu. It's tiny cause I used it for a Wolfenstein3D style game, so it's low quality.
Image

What do you'll think? :)
Attachments
menu.png
Copperhead_cockpit.png
Last edited by cork279 on April 20th, 2012, 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My latest track: Odyssey

Soundcloud - Youtube - ModDB

arcones
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2734
Joined: January 13th, 2010, 12:42 pm
Name: Timothy
IRC Username: I use Steam
Location: Looking over your shoulder...
Contact:

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby arcones » February 16th, 2012, 1:54 pm

Easily possible. You ship would probably become more of a hovercraft though, once you remove gravity (unless Hirato has some way of making you float whilst retaining speed (like in editmode)).

I think it would be fantastic. You could have ports, enemy ships, etc (just like you said). The gui would be fairly simple as it'd just be WASD and mouse.

Anyway, gravity command:

Code: Select all

/gravity ###
Image
Want a user bar like this one? PM Leo!

User avatar
cork279
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: October 22nd, 2010, 5:54 am
Name: Corey
IRC Username: cork279
Location: The corner of a sphere.
Contact:

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby cork279 » February 19th, 2012, 5:51 am

I'm going to make a visual demo of it, and decide whether to continue from there. I'll continue if it looks good :D
My latest track: Odyssey

Soundcloud - Youtube - ModDB

User avatar
cork279
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: October 22nd, 2010, 5:54 am
Name: Corey
IRC Username: cork279
Location: The corner of a sphere.
Contact:

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby cork279 » February 19th, 2012, 12:07 pm

The gravity command can only go from 10-1000, so I can't turn it off completely... Any ideas on how I could?
My latest track: Odyssey

Soundcloud - Youtube - ModDB

chocolatepie33
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 2458
Joined: April 27th, 2010, 5:31 pm
IRC Username: CP

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby chocolatepie33 » February 19th, 2012, 10:11 pm

you can't. I'm gonna say that the only way to do so would be to modify the source code so that you can have negative gravity values, along with how those values would change everything.

BTW: interesting location you have there.
Julius wrote:Contribute to http://www.opengameart.org NOW!

Save the wiki!

User avatar
cork279
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: October 22nd, 2010, 5:54 am
Name: Corey
IRC Username: cork279
Location: The corner of a sphere.
Contact:

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby cork279 » February 24th, 2012, 12:35 pm

chocolatepie33 wrote:you can't. I'm gonna say that the only way to do so would be to modify the source code so that you can have negative gravity values, along with how those values would change everything.

I'm gonna have a look through the source code, see what I can find. Other than that, if I fail, d'you think it'd be possible to make the game start in edit mode, disable the E key (or F1) to turn it off, and tweak other things to fit into the game (such as alpha, water, lava, etc appearing as they would in edit mode). It'd probably be more work than editing the source code (and may involve editing the source code) so it may be a bad idea :P

chocolatepie33 wrote:BTW: interesting location you have there.

lol. Anything that makes little (or no) sense is fine to me :D
My latest track: Odyssey

Soundcloud - Youtube - ModDB

User avatar
cork279
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: October 22nd, 2010, 5:54 am
Name: Corey
IRC Username: cork279
Location: The corner of a sphere.
Contact:

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby cork279 » April 17th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Hey everyone. Someone called Tempris on ModDB has told me a way of removing gravity. Expect an update on this soon :)
My latest track: Odyssey

Soundcloud - Youtube - ModDB

User avatar
Sircameron
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: March 6th, 2012, 9:13 pm
Name: Cameron
Location: Indiana

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby Sircameron » April 19th, 2012, 8:58 pm

cork279 wrote:Hey everyone. Someone called Tempris on ModDB has told me a way of removing gravity. Expect an update on this soon :)

Awesome! But any ideas on how it will work? Like will it just remove gravity period like in the edit mode? Gonna have to conjure up a new char movement system to allow "throttle" or it just wouldnt be the same to me haha.. Thanks this is gonna be sweet!

User avatar
cork279
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: October 22nd, 2010, 5:54 am
Name: Corey
IRC Username: cork279
Location: The corner of a sphere.
Contact:

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby cork279 » April 20th, 2012, 12:38 pm

Yeah, I'm gonna try to find a way to get the ship to strafe left and right, up and down. I also want to get the ship to slow down when you turn off the throttle rather than just stop.
For now I've just removed gravity though, and I'm working on a c-o-c-kpit (the word c-o-c-kpit is censored for obvious reasons) HUD.
My latest track: Odyssey

Soundcloud - Youtube - ModDB

User avatar
Sircameron
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: March 6th, 2012, 9:13 pm
Name: Cameron
Location: Indiana

Re: Space Sim Idea...

Postby Sircameron » April 20th, 2012, 7:33 pm

cork279 wrote:Yeah, I'm gonna try to find a way to get the ship to strafe left and right, up and down. I also want to get the ship to slow down when you turn off the throttle rather than just stop.
For now I've just removed gravity though, and I'm working on a c-o-c-kpit (the word c-o-c-kpit is censored for obvious reasons) HUD.

I think using vertical bars for the health/mana would look cool if you're using the HUD in the screenies (which are nice by the way). Have you came up with an idea on how you're gonna use the mana bar? I.e as a shield for the ship? Or as the ship's energy? I love the space sim idea haha


Return to “Sandbox General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests