Grass

Talk about anything related to Platinum Arts Sandbox here!
User avatar
Dannyboi
Member
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 5:00 pm
Name: Danny
Location: Temple TX

Grass

Post by Dannyboi »

Hi im kinda new to Sandbox and i wanted to know if you have to script to add the grass like in the Village map. Because im using the mapmodel grass to add effect to my new map but its getting really annoying because its hard to get it in the small places so do i have to script the grass in and if i do how?
I'm BAAAACK!!! >:D
User avatar
GoBologna120
Member
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 3:07 pm
Name: Tim
IRC Username: GoBologna
Location: Nowhere in particular.

Re: Grass

Post by GoBologna120 »

In the cfg file, try putting in "grass 1". Then use the last grass texture in the first row of the texture menu. If that doesn't work, I don't know what will.
Image
Yay. ^_^
User avatar
Dannyboi
Member
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 5:00 pm
Name: Danny
Location: Temple TX

Re: Grass

Post by Dannyboi »

GoBologna120 wrote:In the cfg file, try putting in "grass 1". Then use the last grass texture in the first row of the texture menu. If that doesn't work, I don't know what will.

Thanks! Hey, do you know how to add characters like in the rpg? because im going to be adding a shop to my map later and i think a shopkeeper would help.
I'm BAAAACK!!! >:D
User avatar
GoBologna120
Member
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 3:07 pm
Name: Tim
IRC Username: GoBologna
Location: Nowhere in particular.

Re: Grass

Post by GoBologna120 »

http://sandboxgamemaker.com/wiki/index.php?title=FAQ

This is the Sandbox FAQ. Look under "How do I make an NPC talk and/or give quests?".
Image
Yay. ^_^
User avatar
Dannyboi
Member
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 5:00 pm
Name: Danny
Location: Temple TX

Re: Grass

Post by Dannyboi »

Well i looked at it...and i dont understand...i didnt understand all the mumbo-jumbo i even tried but it didnt work >.<
I'm BAAAACK!!! >:D
User avatar
GoBologna120
Member
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 3:07 pm
Name: Tim
IRC Username: GoBologna
Location: Nowhere in particular.

Re: Grass

Post by GoBologna120 »

What part don't you get?
Image
Yay. ^_^
User avatar
Dannyboi
Member
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 5:00 pm
Name: Danny
Location: Temple TX

Re: Grass

Post by Dannyboi »

GoBologna120 wrote:What part don't you get?

the cfg and how to edit it...and how to edit the rc/pink its pretty complicated >.<
I'm BAAAACK!!! >:D
User avatar
GoBologna120
Member
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 3:07 pm
Name: Tim
IRC Username: GoBologna
Location: Nowhere in particular.

Re: Grass

Post by GoBologna120 »

Wow. I must've come pretty far in 3 years, then. :lol:

Anyway, you go into the packages folder, then go into the base folder and find the .cfg file for your map. If it doesn't exist, make the file. Then you just do some script. For example, if you wanted to make a character talk, you might use something like:

Code: Select all

newgui Person [ guitext "I'm talking to you." chat ]

level_trigger_1 = showgui Person

After that, you start up Sandbox and make an invisible mapmodel near the character that will talk. Select the invisible model and press the . key. Then change the third number to a 1 and the forth number to a 1. Press enter, and you should have a talking character.

( Note: You need to be in edit mode to make and edit mapmodels. )
Image
Yay. ^_^
User avatar
Dannyboi
Member
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 5:00 pm
Name: Danny
Location: Temple TX

Re: Grass

Post by Dannyboi »

it wont let me open it it says windows cannot open this file. i cant open any of them.
I'm BAAAACK!!! >:D
User avatar
GoBologna120
Member
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 3:07 pm
Name: Tim
IRC Username: GoBologna
Location: Nowhere in particular.

Re: Grass

Post by GoBologna120 »

Does it say why?
Image
Yay. ^_^
Locked